Listen and plan for the future

Scholarship Summary

The Lloyd K Johnson Post-Secondary School Scholarship is awarded to graduating seniors from Cook County High School in Grand Marais. The Scholarship assists with all tuition, fees and books for one year at Lake Superior College in Duluth, with the potential for renewal if students maintain their grades, full-time status and satisfactory academic progress.

During the fall of 2011, the Foundation undertook a survey of all past scholarship recipients to gauge the impact of the scholarship and request feedback on potential improvements to the program. We appreciate all the feedback and especially appreciated the following comments from scholarship recipients:

The scholarship “has been very helpful because without it I don’t know how I would have paid for school”
“I felt I should put in the extra effort because there were people that believed in me”
“It was a major blessing in my life”
“Thank you – you have done so much for me and my family”
“The scholarship is one of the big reasons I decided to go to college”
“The scholarship not only kept me on track, but relieved a major stress of trying to find a way to pay for my education”.

In 2011, the Foundation awarded Linnea Leonard the Lloyd K Johnson Post-Secondary Scholarship and renewed scholarship awards for Cody Anderson, Christian Cole and Haley Ruhanen. The Board of Directors of the Lloyd K Johnson Foundation and staff congratulate all the recipients and wishes them well as they pursue their academic goals!

To learn more about how to apply for the scholarship program of the Lloyd K Johnson Foundation please click here.

Area of Interest: Education
To: Wolf Ridge Environmental Learning Center
For: Environmental Science Immersion Program – 2nd Year


The mission of the Lloyd K. Johnson Foundation is to enhance educational opportunities in Cook County and to significantly improve the quality of life in the North Shore communities of Cook, Lake and southern St. Louis County through competitive grant making in the areas of Arts and Culture, Community and Economic Development, Education, Environment, and Social Welfare programs to qualified nonprofit organizations.